It was quiet (September 12, 2001)

Where do we go
What do we do
Their end of the phone
Just I don’t knows too
It was quiet

With people I’ve known
For near half of my life
My ID …or
His M-16
It was quiet

The ride was too loud
For nobody talked
My ID …or
His M-16
It was quiet

How can they know
What I carry inside
As anger sets in
The walk doesn’t hide
It was quiet

Once mighty and loud
With engines that soared
Now stacked in a pile
Surrounding our door
It was quiet

The Red, blue & gray
Stand guard for the moment
The Red, blue & gray
Now too scared to stray
It was quiet

Where do we go
What do we do
The outcome is clear
Won’t be here for snow
It was quiet

Leave or go home
Can’t figure it out
Confusion to stay
Can’t come in
Can’t come out
It was quiet

Pack up for this day
With people I’ve known
Walk out the same way
And on the way home
My ID …or
His M-16
It was quiet

Who are they now
Who were we then
Can’t see it again
My ID …or
His M-16
It was quiet

September the 12th of 2001
This Wednesday goes down
The worst day for one
It was quiet

Leave a Reply

